Running the Race (In belated honor of the Olympics)

Right before the Olympics began, I caught the middle of an interview with an American Olympian on a Christian Radio Station. This is her fourth time at the Olympics (and her team has won gold each time)! In her interview she was sharing that during her senior year of high school, when she needed to impress scouts, she injured her knee and how she wanted to just wrap it and play through the pain, but ended up and unable to play. She talked about how this was a terrible let down and experience for her to endure. She shared how faithful God has been to get her where she is now and how much she had to rely on him during that time. It is a powerful story, one I feel I have often heard in some form or another.

This interview reminded me of the Hebrews 12: 1-3:

       “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus that pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

The dedication depicted here is one that I see or hear about from athletes frequently; they are so focused on their goal that they do not want to stop their race despite the pain that their endurance through a setback is causing. In some ways, this perseverance is admirable and something to strive for. In other ways, there is a need for healing downtime so that we can be stronger for the next part of the race. Both perseverance and down time are necessary. God uses and blesses both!

I really wanted to write this during the Olympics, since it is appropriate timing, but then, I’ve recently experienced some setbacks in my relationship with one of my stepkids. I really feel like giving up on that relationship right now. I’m tired of the difficulty and have stopped fixing my eyes on Jesus (and the joy set before me). So this message is for me, as much as it is for you! I need to be pressing on with perseverance. However, some of you may need to stand down and take a rest.

Father, I pray that those needing perseverance in their situations would look up to you and be given the strength, energy, direction, and encouragement they need to continue in their journey. I also pray for those who have just been running too hard and too long. May they drink your living water and take a rest. May they be revived and refreshed for the journey (and experience no bitterness or resentment for the time out of the race). In your sweet name I pray, Amen!

Leave a comment